Day 10: One Day More

Today is our official last day (er, entire day) in Hokkaido. Everyone was hastily preparing for the big presentation to the stakeholders tomorrow; we gave our final trial presentation to our fellow coursemates and to the professors in the morning with the remaining of the day for polishing our presentations and resting for tomorrow. I got to say that the trip seems like it happened so fast – it seems like it was just a few days ago when we arrived and were enthralled by the beauty of Kushiro, Hokkaido.

I’ve felt like the entire Hokkaido trip was a life-changing experience and I am very thankful and grateful that I was given an opportunity to come here and meet all these wonderful people along the way. Even when there are days where we each had to face obstacles – both figuratively and literally – we were able to get through them and come out stronger and wiser. The end of the day made me look back on the first few days we were all here – we were all eager to learn new things and make memories; I’m happy to say that both of these aspirations were fulfilled. And so, with a bittersweet feeling, we must head back to Tokyo tomorrow – and, for most of us, back to our respective countries in a few days.

Before coming on this trip, I was searching for a quote that I could write on my notebook cover that I had put aside specifically for this course, and I found the perfect one to describe not only the experience of the trip itself but what I felt too:

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.”

Leave a Reply

